Income Tax Dues Can Be Paid At RBI Offices, 29 Banks

Income Tax Dues Can Be Paid At RBI Offices, 29 Banks

Reserve bank has asked the public to pay their income tax dues well in advance so as to avoid standing in long queues and stated that 29 agency banks are also authorised to accept such payments.  On 26 Aug. RBI said in a notification that advance pay of IT dues at RBI or at authorised bank branches  will obviate the inconveinience involved in standing in long queues at the reserve bank offices.

It said the assessees can use alternate channels like select branhes of banks or the facility of online payment of taxes offered by these banks.
The banks where you can file income tax dues include Syndicate bank, Allahabad Bank, UCO Bank, Andhra Bank, Union Bank of India, Bank of Baroda, United Bank of India, Union Bank of India, Bank of India, Central Bank of India, State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur, State Bank of Hyderabad, Dena Bank.

Among others are State Bank of Travancore, State Bank of Mysore, IDBI Bank, State Bank of Patiala, HDFC Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, Axis Bank, Punjab& Sindh Bank, ICICI Bank, Oriental Bank of Commerce and Punjab National Bank.

The central bank said that it is observed that the rush for remitting Income-Tax dues through the RBI has been far too heavy towards the end of September every year.

The RBI said it become difficult for it to cope with the pressure of issuing receipts although additional counters to the maximum extent possible are provided for the purpose.

Enter your email address: